Get fast, free auto insurance quotes in moments!
Get Competitive Auto Insurance Quotes now and save!
Compare Rates Within Minutes!
- Complete 1 short quote form
- Compare rates from top insurers
- Save time & money!
California Auto Insurance
- Auto Insurance
- State Auto Insurance
- California Auto Insurance
California is what is know as a tort state in reference to its auto insurance laws. This means that the driver is held responsible for expenses if an accident occurs which is their fault. In California, a driver must either show financial responsibility by placing a bond or certificate in the amount of $35,000 or by purchasing liability insurance for their vehicle. In case of an accident, the bond money would be used to pay for medical, property, or collision expenses. For this reason, it is not a popular choice. Most turn to an insurance provider to purchase the mandatory insurance due to the high cost of the bond.
It is very important to note that in California, a driver's liability for damages they cause in an accident does not end with their liability coverage or with their driver's bond. For this reason, it is extremely important that drivers opt for enough coverage to protect their financial interests in the event that they cause a serious accident.
California Auto Insurance Rates
California auto insurance rates are determined by the actions of all drivers in the State. In addition, the car insurance premium for an individual takes into account the person’s age, their driving record, their location (city or rural), and the make and model of the consumer’s car, along with a number of other factors. They may even take into account credit status, home ownership, and other financial indicators.
Auto insurance rates in California ranked 20th in the country for amount of money spent on average for one year of coverage in a recent study. The total spent by the average drivers came to $821.11 per year. That study also concluded that California residents on average spent $481.71 for liability coverage, $384.72 on collision coverage, and $119.22 for comprehensive coverage with their California car insurance.
California Minimum Coverage Requirements For Auto Insurance
The State of California mandates that each driver have liability coverage of at least $15,000 for a single personal injury, $30,000 for all individuals, and $5,000 for property damage expenses caused to another driver and their passengers. In the insurance world, this is commonly denoted as a 15/30/5 coverage requirement. Even though these are the minimums for California auto insurance, it is advisable to carry more coverage in case of a major accident which could cause major financial burdens.
California Auto Insurance Carriers
Californians have one of the largest choices in the country when it comes to selecting an auto insurance company. With so many different carriers operating in the State, it is important for consumers to shop around and compare rates to make sure they are not overpaying. In fact, rates can vary by up to 50% depending on the carrier you choose.
More Helpful Information
To find out more about California auto insurance, contact the California Department of Insurance at the address below.
California Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division
300 South Spring Street, South Tower
Los Angeles, CA 90013
Phone: (800) 927-HELP (4357) (Calling from within Ca.)
Phone: (213) 897-8921 (Outside California)
Phone: (800) 482-4833 (TDD - Telecommunication Devices for the Deaf)
Telephone Lines are open from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except state holidays.
For other California Insurance Resources, See:
Connect With California Auto Insurance Agents Now By Filling Out the Quick Form At The Top Of This Page.
USInsuranceOnline provides referrals to auto insurance agents so consumers can compare prices and save money.